Certain states require paid rest periods for employees , but the federal law does not. Under The Fair Labor Standards Act (“FLSA”), the federal law that sets minimum wage and overtime pay in the private sector for full-time and part-time workers and in federal, state, and local governments, there is no provision for paid rest breaks.
California, Colorado, Kentucky, Nevada, Oregon, and Washington require 10 minute rest periods for each 4 hours worked, depending on the type of work you do. If you live in California, for example, professional actors and sheepherders are out of luck. Minnesota provides for an “adequate rest period” every 4 hours to use the restroom and Vermont requires that its employees be given “reasonable opportunities” to use the restroom (making you wonder about the expectations of other states that have no such specific provisions). In Illinois, hotel room attendants in counties of over 3 million people are entitled to two 15-minute breaks in each workday of at least seven hours or more.
Are you receiving the paid rest breaks to which you are entitled?